Yifang Wu, M.B.A.


Mr. Wu  joined Fosun in 2004 and now serves as President and Chief Executive Officer of Fosun Pharma. Mr. Wu used to serve as a Technician, Director, Production Officer, Finance Director, Assistant to Director of Xuzhou Biochemical Pharmaceutical Factory, now known as Wanbang Pharma (1987-1997),  Deputy Director of Xuzhou (Wanbang) Biopharmaceuticals Manufactures Plant, now known as Wanbang Pharma (1997-1998), President of Xuzhou Wanbang Biochemical Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. , now known as Wanbang Pharma, Deputy General Manager of Wanbang Pharma (1998 -2007), President of Wanbang Pharma  (2007-2011), and Chairman and CEO of Wanbang Pharma from 2011 till now. Mr. Wu was Vice President and Chief Operation Director of Fosun Pharma (2014-2016) and has been President, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director of Fosun Pharma since 2016.

Mr. Wu graduated from Nanjing University of Science and Technology majoring in international commerce in 1996 and obtained a master degree in business administration (pharmaceutical marketing) from Saint Joseph’s University in 2005.



Jiemin Fu, M.Pharm.

Co-founder & Vice Chairman

Mr. Fu, a professor-level senior engineer, is a member of the Chongqing Pharmaceutical Association, a member of the Chongqing New Drug Evaluation Committee, and an expert on drug review of the State Drug Administration. He graduated from Baotou Medical College in 1987 with an M.S. in cardiovascular pharmacology. Subsequently, he served as Dean of Chongqing Pharmaceutical Industry Research Institute, Chairman of Chongqing Pharmaceutical Industry Research Institute Co., Ltd., as well as Vice President, Director of Technology Center and Senior Vice President of Shanghai Fosun Pharmaceutical (Group) Co., Ltd. (1989-2015). He is currently a consultant of Shanghai Fosun Pharmaceutical (Group) Co., Ltd.

Mr. Fu  won the second prize of National Science and Technology Progress Award for the pharmacological research of Mirinone, Fluconazole, etc. As one of the project leaders of new drug Wanlafa, he was responsible to the preclinical pharmacology and toxicology research of this drug and obtained the new drug certificate and production permit from the Chinese Ministry of Health in 1998. He was in charge of the pharmaceutical production of the Chongqing Pharmaceutical Industry Research Institute in 1997, and achieved a production value of nearly 44 million yuan and a profit of more than 700 million yuan in those two years. At the same time, he presided over the FDA declaration and inspection work of Clindamycin Hydrochloride, which successfully passed the inspection and review of the US FDA and sold well in European and American markets. In recent years, he has undertaken the research and technological transformative projects of Alendronate Sodium, Ibudilast, Lofexidine, Granisetron, Sibutramine (Qumei), etc. It is worth mentioning that Sibutramine (Qumei) produced tremendous economic and social benefits after technology transferring to Chongqing Taiji Industry (Group) Co.,Ltd.. In 2002, he won the first prize of Scientific and Technological Progress Award in Chongqing.


Weibo Wang, Ph.D. 

Co-founder & CEO

Dr. Wang co-founded Fochon in 2009 and is currently serving as Chief Executive Officer. Prior to joining Fochon, Dr. Wang was an associate director of medicinal chemistry at Chiron Corporation (now Novartis), where he led the medicinal chemistry on anti-cancer, anti-bacterial, anti-HCV programs. From 1993 to 2001, Dr. Wang was with Abbott Laboratories, first as a senior scientist, and then as a chemistry group leader focusing on anti-microbial and anti-cancer programs.  Over his 20-year’s pharmaceutical industrial career, Dr. Wang has been a key player in the R&D process of several drug candidates. He has authored and co-authored more than 70 scientific publications and patents, covering a broad range of therapeutics areas.

He received his B.S. degree from East China University of Science and Technology (1985) and received his Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry from Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences (1990). Subsequently, he completed his postdoctoral work in organic chemistry at Northwestern University. Over the years, he has won many achievement awards including Abbott President Mentor Award (1997), the Second Prize of the State Science and Technology, China (1993), The First Prize of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (1992), and the Presidential Award for creative research, the Chinese Academy of Sciences (1990).


Jacob Plattner, Ph.D. 

Co-founder & CSO

Dr. Plattner co-founded Fochon in 2009 and is currently serving as Chief Science Officer. He received his B.S. degree from the University of Illinois and then completed his Ph.D. degree in organic chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley (1972). Dr. Plattner joined Pfizer, Inc. in 1973, and his research interests there included analgesics, antipsychotics and prostaglandins.  In 1977, Dr. Plattner joined Abbott Laboratories as a chemistry Group Leader and progressed through increasing levels of responsibility to become Vice President of the Anti-infective Research Division in 1992. In that capacity, he led fully integrated project teams focusing on antibacterials, antifungals, natural products, anticancer agents and antivirals.  For antivirals, Dr. Plattner initiated the anti-HIV discovery research program at Abbott and supervised the research that led to two commercial HIV protease inhibitors.  In 1998, Dr. Plattner joined Chiron Corporation as Vice President of Small Molecule Discovery Research.  At Chiron, he built the small molecule platform to where it was 50% of the overall biopharma research budget and supervised the delivery of several small molecule oncology products into clinical development.  Dr. Plattner joined Anacor Pharmaceuticals in Feb, 2004 as Senior Vice President of Research. He led the R&D team to the to the discovery and commercialization of Kerydin and Crisaborole.  Anacor was acquired by Pfizer in 2016 for $5.2 billion.

Dr. Plattner has served on the American Chemical Society’s Division of Medicinal Chemistry Award Committee and the Long Range Planning Committee (1994-1996).  He has organized a number of symposia at major scientific meetings, including the National Medicinal Chemistry Symposium, the Interscience Conference on Antimicrobial Agents & Chemotherapy and the Medicinal Chemistry Gordon Research Conference.  In 1994, he also served as Chairman of the Gordon Research Conference on Medicinal Chemistry.  He was a section editor for Annual Reports in Medicinal Chemistry for 14 years. He is author and co-author of over 250 publications and patents and has contributed a number of invited papers and talks.